Award-winning author visits Visalia

New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson comes to Visalia library to talk about his various work, including his “Longmire” mystery series

(Rigo Moran)
Karis Caddell
Published January 7, 2024  • 
10:00 am

VISALIA – Readers and Netflix fans can uncover the mystery behind “Longmire” by meeting the mind behind the original Longmire book series.

The Visalia Branch Library will be hosting a “Meet the Author” with New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson on Jan. 18, at 6 p.m. Fans of the Longmire series as well as literature enthusiasts can hear a presentation from the man behind the books. Readers can bring their Longmire books or purchase them at the event to be signed by Johnson.

“If they like a good series or they’re a current fan, or if they are interested in something new to read, then they should definitely check out this series and meet the author,” Jonathan Waltmire, librarian at the Tulare County Library, said. “Having an author of Craig Johnson’s caliber, in this area, as not very common.”

The Longmire series was the basis for the hit western mystery Netflix show “Longmire.” Johnson’s latest addition to the collection is his book “The Longmire Defense,” which was released in the fall of 2023. He has captured the hearts of readers with his engaging storytelling and the beloved character, Sheriff Walt Longmire. 

According to Waltmire, having an author like Johnson in Tulare County is a great thing for both the readers and fans of the Netflix series.

“They can see they have that connection with the stories that they’re reading, and see who created it,” Waltmire said. “It’s a way to promote reading, promote books, promote education, entertainment – all those things, and we’re able to make that personal connection to really promote those ideas.”

Johnson is coming all the way to Tulare County from his home in Ucross, Wyoming, where the total population of the town is 26 people. He is the recipient of a number of awards including the Western Writers of America Spur Award for fiction, and his novella Spirit of Steamboat was the first One Book Wyoming selection.

Karis Caddell